Wedmas

Not only can I perform weddings, but the Church of Jankity-Jank says I can also absolve you of your sins.

Not only can I perform weddings, but the Church of Jankity-Jank says I can also absolve you of your sins.

You can blame my sister, baby Jesus and a flock of friends and family for the lack of blog posts this week. The Mrs. and I took our first “vacation” since our Orlando adventure this past week, heading to the homeland, Michigan, for some holiday fun and my sister’s wedding, or a “Wedmas.” I use the term “vacation” loosely, as it was a busy 4-day trip.

I’m not one to turn my nose at true love, so I’m sure you’ll understand why the blog had to take a backseat. The wedding took place Dec. 22 in the cute, miniaturized-version of Greenfield Village known as Mill Race Village, in historic Northville, a suburb of Detroit. The cute and cozy 19th-century chapel played host to about 20 friends and family members and, while yours truly officiated, it was the bride and groom that made the ceremony all worthwhile.

With the exception of the bride’s and groom’s rings getting wedged into one another in my pocket – thankfully, I frantically un-wedged them before it was time to do the ring exchange – everything went off without a hitch. Congrats to the bride and groom.

The intimate reception to follow was held at Fleming's, an upscale steakhouse just down the road from the chapel.

The intimate reception to follow was held at Fleming’s, an upscale steakhouse just down the road from the chapel.

Not to be outdone, my sister, a glutton for punishment, celebrated her birthday Christmas Eve and then there was some holiday where all the big box stores finally closed (for a few hours at least) the following day. Two families, several old friends and a drive-by of one of the most ridiculously decorated houses I’ve seen in person, and the trip was complete.

Clark Griswold, apparently, now lives in the Detroit suburbs.

Clark Griswold, apparently, now lives in the Detroit suburbs.

The trip also made us want to go back to Michigan – both for warmer weather and a chance to revisit Greenfield Village, which is something every child in Michigan is required to visit, but I would add something every adult should also revisit. Mill Race Village would also be worth another trip, this time without the rain or slush.

Leave a Reply

